n recognition of outstanding service and accomplishments, the MU Alumni Association honored recipients of the 22nd annual Faculty-Alumni Awards Sept. 22 in Columbia.

Don Walsworth, BS Ed '57, received the Distinguished Service Award. Established in 1956, this award recognizes service by an individual whose sustained efforts and support have added to the excellence of the University. Walsworth, publishing Co. Inc. in

Marceline, Mo., is active in the University Medical School Outreach Program and the Business School Management Advisory Board. His company sponsors several sporting events at Mizzou.

Dr. Hugh E. Stephenson Jr., AB, BS Med '43, the John A. Growdon Distinguished Professor of Surgery and chief of staff at University Hospital and Clinics, received the Distinguished Faculty Award. This award recognizes a faculty member whose sustained efforts in teaching, research and service have added to the executellence of the University. With the University since 1953, Stephenson was influential in establishing MU's four-year Medical School and the J. Otto Lottes Health Sciences Library.

The following Faculty-Alumni Award winners were selected for accomplishments in their professional lives and service to the University.

Francis M. Barnes III, AB '41, has been a member of the Missouri House of Representatives since 1976. He played an important role in obtaining the new addition to Ellis Library and in raising private funding for the State Historical Society of Missouri.

Eliot F. Battle, M Ed '60, is the director of guidance at Hickman High School and of pupil-personnel services for public schools in Columbia. He is an ardent supporter of the College of Education, where he served as adjunct faculty member.

Dr. Leon E. Boothe, BS Ed ⁵60, MA ⁵62, is president and professor of history at Northern Kentucky University in Highland Heights. He helped start the alumni chapter in Cincinnati.

Thomas W. Campbell, BJ '53, is vice president of public affairs at Cooper Industries, an international manufacturing company. He is co-chairman of the Houston Walter Williams Club.

Dr. Kitty G. Dickerson is department chairwoman and professor of textile and apparel management. Her research provided the impetus for the U.S. textile and apparel industry's "Crafted with Pride in the U.S.A." campaign.

Rod G. Gelatt, professor of journalism, is moderator of KOMU-TV's Missouri Forum program. He directed radio station KBIA from 1974 to 1986, and then was selected chairman of the broadcast news department.

Bob F. Griffin, BS BA '57, JD '59, is the 10th



District representative from Cameron, Mo., and the speaker of the Missouri House of Representatives. He helped pass legislative appropriations for MU's new law building, where a courtroom is named after him.

Dr. Richard A. Holmes, professor of medicine, radiology and nuclear engineering, is chief of nuclear medicine at Truman Veterans Hospital and at University Hospital and Clinics. His research on measuring brain blood flow led to the University's largest patent.

Ellis O. Jackson, MA '41, retired in 1963 as the Webster County superintendent of schools. He has led the Webster County chapter to honor status for the past 11 years.

C.R. Johnston, BS Ag '48, retired as president of the Missouri Farm Bureau in 1988. His friends and co-workers raised more than \$123,000 for a scholarship fund in his honor for children of Missouri Farm Bureau employees to attend MU, Johnston served on the Board of Curators of the University System from 1975 to 1982.

James B. Judd, BS BA '60, managing partner of the Kansas City office of Peat Marwick Main & Co., has helped secure financial assistance for the School of Business.

Dr. Charles J. McClain, M Ed '57, EdD '61, became Missouri's commissioner of higher education Sept. 15. He has served as assistant dean of MU's College of Education.

Joe Lynn Moseley, AB '71, JD '76, is prosecuting attorney for Boone County, Mo. He is a past president of the MU Alumni Association and the Tiger Quarterback Club.

William W. Quigg, AB '57, JD '59, is president of Central Bank in Jefferson City and chairman of the executive committee of its parent holding company, Central Bancompany. He currently is chairman of the Missouri State Banking Board.

Dr. Betty Scott, professor of music, serves as director of the MU Brass Choir and teaches Honors College classes on creativity and photography.

Betty Simpson Spaar, BJ '54, is publisher of The Odessan in Odessa, Mo. The Missouri Press Association past president serves on the MUAlum in Association's communications committee.

Dr. David E. Troutner, professor of chemistry, has helped find diagnostic and therapeutic treatments for debilitating diseases such as cancer.

Dale Alan Whitman, the R.B. Price Professor of Law, served as dean of the School of Law from 1982 to 1988. He was instrumental in developing the Law Society, which raised funds for MU's new law building.

Anyone interested in nominating qualified faculty or alumni for the 23rd annual Faculty-Alumni Awards should write to Faculty-Alumni Awards Committee, Alumni Relations, 132 Alumni Center, Columbia, Mo. 65211.



Don Walsworth



Thomas W. Campbell



Ellis O. Jackson



William W. Quigg









Rod G. Gelatt



Eliot F. Battle



Bob F. Griffin



Dr. Charles J. McClain



Dr. David E. Troutner



Dr. Leon E. Boothe



Dr. Richard A. Holmes



Joe Lynn Moseley



Dale Alan Whitman



C.R. Johnston



Dr. Betty Scott



James B. Judd



Betty Simpson Spaar



WINTER 1990