









Wilbur R. Miller Frank L. Mitchell Jr. William J. Murphy





Marlin N. Rogers

F Robert Naka **Curtis J. Nelson**

1984 UNIVERSITY OF MISSOURI-COLUMBIA ALUMNI ASSOCIATION FACULTY - ALUMNI AWARDS



18 Alissouri



Jack A. Kinder J. Otto Lottes Sudarshan K. Loyalka Jean J. Madden

THE ALUMNI ASSOCIATION of the University of Missouri-Columbia wined and dined six faculty and 11 alumni during its 17th annual Faculty-Alumni Awards banquet Sept. 21 at Memorial Union.

The awardees were recognized for academic and professional achievement, service to education and promotion of the University.

Bill T. Crawford, AB '40, MA '42, retired this year after 42 years with the Wilsouri Department of Conservation. The wildlife research supervisor fostered interagency cooperation with the School of Forestry, Fisheries and Wildlife.

Dr. Thomas Freeman, professor and chairman of the department of geology, has served as a leader of the International Field Institute and a United Nations geoloBill T. Crawford Tom Freeman C. Ron Goodwin Robert L. Hawkins Jr.

gical consultant. He has conducted shipboard research in carbonate petrology.

Dr. C. Ron Goodwin, BS Ed '64, M Ed '70, EdD '78, director of curriculum for Hickman Mills, Mo., school district, promotes gifted-student education. He developed a nationally acclaimed program for talented students.

Robert L. Hawkins Jr., JD '48, senior partner and president of Hawkins, Brydon and Swaerangen Professional Corp. in Jefferson City, is general chairman of the Law School's building campaign and first vice president of the Law School Foundation.

Fred G. Hughes, AB '37, JD '39, chairman of the *Joplin Globe*, has been involved with one of Missouri's most successful newspapers since he joined the staff in 1946 as assistant general manager.

Dr. Duk-Choong Kim, MA'66, PhD '70, executive counselor with Dawoo Corp. in Seoul, Korea, also is an economics professor and director of the Research Institute for Economics and Business at Sogang University.

Dr. Mahn Je Kim, MA '60, PhD '64, has been minister of finance for the Republic of Korea since November 1983. As adviser to President Park Chung Hee, he is one of several responsible for the successful Korean economy.

Dr. Jack A. Kinder, M Ed '58, EdD '63, executive secretary of the 31,500 member Missouri State Teachers Association, is one of 12 members appointed to the President's National Advisory Council on Continuing Education. Dr. J. Otto Lottes, AB '34, BS Med '35, a retired orthopedic surgeon, is internationally known for the Lottes Nail used to repair fractured tibias. The St. Louisan's contribution of 3000 Wayne County, Mo, acres, valued at \$1 million, is being used in the construction of the new Health Sciences Library.

Dr. Sudarshan K. Loyalka, professor of nuclear engineering, has merited long-term support from the National Science Poundation and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission to research kinetic theory of gases, aerosol mechanics, neutron transport theory and nuclear reactor physics and safety.

Jean J. Madden, BS Ed '50, MA '51, vice president of communications for Shelter Insurance Cos. since 1971 and Columbia civic leader, was the first president of the Arts and Science Alumni Organization. Before joining Shelter, he was director of UMC's alumni activities for 16 years.

Dr. Wilbur R. Miller, BS Ed '54, M Ed '55, EdD '68, associate dean of the College of Education, has served as a consultant to the U.S. Secretary of Education and was advisory council chairman of the National Center for Research in Vocational Education.

Dr. Frank L. Mitchell Jr., AB '51, BS Med '53, professor of surgery, is a national leader in the field of emergency medical service. He is credited with establishing Missouri's only out-state trauma service at UMC Hospital and Clinics.

William J. Murphy, BS Agr '39, MS '64, retired in 1981 after a 42-year career in extension education. The former agronomy project leader was instrumental in obtaining funds for research, promotion and marketing of soybeans.

Dr. F. Robert Naka, BS EE '45, an expert in command, control and systems engineering, is vice president of GTE Products Corp.'s Sylvania Systems Group of Concord, Mass.

Dr. Curtis J. Nelson, professor of agronomy, has studied selection criteria for forage grass breeding. His work in grassland agriculture has been recognized by The American Forage and Grassland Council.

Dr. Marlin N. Rogers, MS '51, professor of horticulture, has researched environmental nutrition, pest management, effects of air pollution and post-harvest physiology of greenhouse flower crops.